In case of emergency

imageI’ve been really doing a lot of searching lately. This searching recently led me to visit a psychic / medium who was so accurate in what she knew about me that it was freaky.  Amongst a lot of other things, she told me that the lesson I need to learn in this life is trust. But, but, but … I don’t waaaaaannnnaaaaa learn about trust!

Can’t I learn about something else like ‘hard work & perseverance pays’ or ‘how to manage risk’?   Really, I will take anything else but not trust.  And then I remembered what happened to Bill Murray in Groundhog Day when he refused to learn his lesson and I wondered is that happening to me?  Am I living the same day over and over again because I refuse to learn my lesson?

“What would you do if you were stuck in one place and every day was exactly the same, and nothing you did mattered?”. Bill Murray as Phil Connors, Groundhog Day.

Maybe I need to figure this trust thing out but I’m going to need some perimeters here. I have so many questions. Surely I’m not expected to trust everyone … that would just be foolhardy. So exactly how many people do I have to trust and for how long. Just thinking about all of this is pretty overwhelming. While I’m thinking about Bill Murray, I’m reminded about ‘baby steps’. I think I ought to start small with this, I need to start with trusting myself more and being open to the idea of trusting others, even just a little to start.

Baby steps ... It's like mashed potatoes and gravy.

I’m out of town on business his week so tonight I was out roaming around, contemplating trust. I came across this fabulous store, World Market. I could spend days there. In this store, I came across this adorable little emergency kit containing an angel for peaceful thoughts, a lucky bean for a touch of good luck and a worry doll for someone to tell my worries to. Even though it felt a little silly, I couldn’t resist the urge to buy one. I’m willing to give this trust thing a go but I know I will feel much better having an emergency kit in my pocket.

Emergency Kit

Leave a Reply

