August Break: Day Twelve

After five and a half long month, my darling daughter is finally home.  She enjoys vegetarian cuisine so I decided to make one of my favorite recipes which I found on this fabulous blog http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2006/07/international-quinoa-salad.html.   I have tweaked the recipe just a little based on my own preferences.

I cook a cup of organic quinoa in two cups of organic vegetarian vegetable broth with the minced garlic.  I then add a tbsp of extra virgin olive oil and cool it in the fridge … mostly because patience is not one of my virtues.

I was able to get the most amazing fresh vegetables at the Farmers Market this weekend.  I used grape tomatoes, mini cucumbers, corn, jalapenos and scallions.

Quinoa SaladI went to the grocery store for avocado and cilantro (this is one of my modifications instead of parsley and mint simply because I love cilantro). Add one cup of organic canned chickpeas.

Quinoa SaladThis is my secret ingredient that I have added to the recipe that I think makes it totally fabulous ~ bocconchini.  If you know me then you know I love cheese and I add cheese to most things so it’s no surprise that I’ve found a way to add it to this recipe as well.  Trust me .. try it!

Quinoa SaladThe dressing is super light and tasty: 3 tbsp light olive oil, 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice, 3 cloves of garlic minced and 1/4 tsp chipotle chili pepper.

That’s all there is to it.  I can’t remember when I found this recipe but I love it and make it often. Hope you try it.

One thought on “August Break: Day Twelve

Leave a Reply

