August Break: Day Nine

ImageI really wanted to make this soup that we had at the amazing Garrison Institute and I bought all fresh ingredients at the farmers market so it was time to get down to business and do it.  Wow, soup is very labor intensive but I think that is exactly what I needed today.  It felt good to have something to keep my hands and my mind busy.

I’m not exactly sure what was going on with me today but I was anxiety-stricken from the moment I woke up and it stayed with me throughout the day.  My heart was beating so fast and I felt like I couldn’t catch my breath.  Usually I resist this feeling hard and do everything I can think of to get away from it but today I just decided to allow myself to feel that anxiety, notice how my body was reacting to it and kept reminding myself to take deep breaths.

I was introduced to the Open Heart Project through Marianne Elliott.  It is an online introduction to meditation with two levels: basic (which is free) and practitioner (which is way beyond me).  When you sign up, you receive two emails a week from Susan Piver with two 10 minute videos.  One video provides a guided meditation practice and the other is more educational on meditation (purpose, how to do it, what the challenges are etc. ).  Susan Piver is simply AMAZING.  I have learned so much in the past 25 days I have been practicing meditation and I can’t imagine ever not practicing.  I feel it changing my life, slowly, but nonetheless it is undeniably changing my life.

You may be wondering how I can say it is changing my life on a day when I have felt so much anxiety.  What I’ve learned though is that meditation isn’t about being magically transformed into a peaceful blissful person; rather, it is about feeling and accepting a full spectrum of feelings, see them for what they are and learn how to return to balance.

If you are not familiar with the Open Heart Project, I encourage you to check it out.  http://susanpiver.com/open-heart-project/participate/

3 thoughts on “August Break: Day Nine

  1. “What I’ve learned though is that meditation isn’t about being magically transformed into a peaceful blissful person; rather, it is about feeling and accepting a full spectrum of feelings, see them for what they are and learn how to return to balance.”at I’

    So true and definitely echos what I’ve been learning as well.

    Oh! We had corn on the cob last night and I thought “I know what I’m making on the weekend. That amazing soup.” =)

Leave a Reply

