Hello world!

Some of you may know me from my previous blog lessonsfromthequeenofdenial.blogspot.ca which I started on April Fools Day in 2011. Since then, I’ve been on a 15 month journey of self-discovery.

My journey started when I was virtually introduced to the fabulous Melody Ross and the Brave Girls Club.  Although I have never met Melody, I can honestly say she has changed my life.

Soul Restoration 1 was a process of making peace with my story.  When I started, I felt numb and empty and I wasn’t prepared for what was going to happen when I opened Pandora’s box.  I have to be honest, it was an excruciating process for me.  During this time I felt very withdrawn, I cried a lot.  Looking back now I can see that I was in a mourning phase that was painful but necessary and laid the groudwork for what was to come next.  I learned to accept that yes I did make mistakes, enormous mistakes BUT I also did a lot of great, amazing things.  In fact, I did the best I could and it was enough.

Soul Restoration 2 was the next phase of my journey and I was reluctant to do it.  I didn’t know what to expect and I wasn’t sure if I had anything left in my emotional bank.  This second course was way different than the first one.  It was much easier for me because it was looking forward instead of looking back.  I really enjoyed the process of developing a mission statement and trying out to figure out who I am, what I enjoy and what I want for my life.  I’ve learned some surprising things about myself … I’m still learning.  The course sets up a frame work for creating a Personal Life Book.  I have found that I really enjoy the creative outlet of putting this project together.  I’m sure I’ll be working on it over the next several months. It’s feel good soul work.

The most recent and most fabulous part of my soul journey was the Creative Joy Retreat in New York City led by Jen Louden, Marianne Elliott and Tracey Clark.  The women who led the retreat were inspiring and fun and amazing people.  I honestly can’t say enough about the women who attended the retreat.  These are some of the most fabulous women I have met in my life and I hope I have the chance to meet them again some day.  What did I learn?  SO MUCH!

I learned that there are more similarities than differences between us women.  I learned that it’s okay to cry, laugh and just be in the moment.  I was introduced to meditation, which I now love and do every day.  I broke through my own personal barriers and did yoga … in front of a group of people no less AND loved it too.  I’m currently on day 3 of Marianne’s 30 Days of Yoga for Beginners.  The most important thing I learned though is to be gentle with myself AND not take myself so seriously.  Good lessons.

Through this journey I have learned a lot about who I want to be and who I don’t want to be.  I’ve decided to morph myself from the Queen of Denial into The Girl Who Notices, hence the new blog.

I’m kicking off this blog today and joining in Susannah Conway’s August Break.  I feel a little bit guilty, like I started a new job and am now going on vacation, but hey I’m practicing being gentle with myself … what a great way to start!

So I hope you’ll check in with me from time-to-time.  I look forward to hearing from you.

4 thoughts on “Hello world!

  1. So excited for this new phase, Patty! Love the switch/progression of your blog’s title. The Soul Restoration courses sound so healing… “I did what I could and it was enough”. I’m going to meditate on that today! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

